This is awkward

20

It’s me. It’s been almost 2 years. It’s been so long you probably have no idea who I am or why you signed up to this blog.  I kept meaning to write but the more time that passed the harder it got.

Quick refresh: I was a dissatisfied corporate lawyer embarking on a career change and writing about it. I had a baby and dropped off the face of the blogosphere. Now I’m starting a company (yay!) aimed at helping people discover their perfect job though real life career videos. I’ve built it myself with no tech or design background. Take a look here.

After several years of talking to people and struggling with this myself I have come to the conclusion that our whole system of careers guidance is failing us.  I’m on a mission to fix it.  I don’t think anyone should be stuck for ideas for how to spend their life!

If you’re interested in watching me attempt to build a product that I really think will change the world (naivety alert!) then you can follow along here. I’ll be posting as I go and as with this blog it will be a real life, honest look at career change and startups.  It’s going to be messy.  Following your dream is necessary and important but not always easy.

I’ll be featuring some cool people and their cool jobs on the site over the next few months. If you’d be interested in sharing your career story and possibly changing someone’s life then fill in this form and I’ll set you up with a profile myself.

If you want to read more of my writing, I’ll be blogging and sharing on Medium.  I want to focus on the new website so can’t give this blog the attention it needs (as if my 2 years’ absence isn’t evidence enough of that!).

This blog was an amazing creative outlet at a time when I really needed a place to put my ideas. Honestly, it makes me cringe to read it back now but that doesn’t make the stuff I wrote any less true. In in a weird way I think I made something beautiful but also a bit ugly at the same time.

Thank you so much for being part of that time of my life. I hope the past two years have been kind to you and if they haven’t then I urge you stay strong because things can and do get better.

On we go.

Michelle.

5 thoughts on “This is awkward

  1. hey its so lovely to hear from you again – and i absolutely of remember you. its funny as we were actually going through a transition at the same time and i found your posts really inspirational…and often wondered what you were up to! so yes already connected to you on the new “medium’ and about to dive into the videos. presuming your closing this one down now?

    • Hi Nic, thank you for your kind words! I’m actually not sure what I’ll do with this blog. Over the last couple of years I have had several urges to completely delete it but that feels like denying it ever happened. I think I’ll leave it up for now, unless it becomes a problem! Where did you end up with your career transition?

  2. Wow! I’vel left you this comment on worker bee and just in case that’s now closed;

    hey its so lovely to hear from you again – and i absolutely do remember you. its funny as we were actually going through a transition at the same time and i found your posts really inspirational…and often wondered what you were up to! so yes already connected to you on the new “medium’ and about to dive into the videos. presuming your closing this one down now?

    Best wishes

    nic

    From: workerbeefree Reply-To: workerbeefree Date: Monday, February 8, 2016 at 12:34 PM To: Nic Conway Subject: [New post] This is awkward

    WordPress.com michellemeagher posted: ” It’s me. It’s been almost 2 years. It’s been so long you probably have no idea who I am or why you signed up to this blog. I kept meaning to write but the more time that passed the harder it got. Quick refresh: I was a dissatisfied corporate lawyer em”

  3. Shouldn’t feel awkward – at least you now have the big idea! Not sure if you remember but we met whilst I was also embarking on my career change. Sadly my plans have been on hold for 18 months as I was diagnosed with breast cancer. It’s been a very rocky time, but for now I am finished with treatment and now have to start looking again for my ‘big idea’. Every day feels extra precious now so it’s got to be a good one to deserve my time!
    Good luck with the venture!

    • I remember of course! Nice to hear from you but so sorry to hear what you’ve been going through. I hope that things are improving for you and that as you say you can find a worthy way to spend these precious days! Let me know if I can help in any way, even if you just want someone to bounce ideas off. Really, don’t hesitate.

      Take care.
      M.

Leave a Reply

